Collagen Hydrolysate for Joint Pain


image
It has been quite sometime since I have made any updates. The year was crazy. Lost my home in a flood, moved my mom who has Stage 6 Alzheimer’s into a terrific, safe memory care, and have been recouping and playing catch up since last summer. That’s my mom there in the photo. 

Joint pain has gnawed at me off and on for a couple years and has gotten much worse in the past few months. My hips are so painful that on a handful of occasions I cannot move my legs to walk. My range of motion is non-existent. The joints in my elbows and inner knees are in constant pain to the point where nothing can touch them, not even a soft pillow or my mattress. When the hip and elbow pain began to happen more frequently I thought I was having a flare-up. My neurologist thinks it is osteoarthritis and not M.S.-type or Syringomyelia flare-ups. He doesn’t think osteoarthritis is related to the Syringomyelia, but I swear I read a few interesting articles recently that noted the two issues have been seen in patients with a Syrinx. If I go back to find them, I will link here.

I have an appointment with a rheumatologist in the middle of August. For the last year I have been taking an all in one supplement: Chondroiton, Glucosamine, and MSM to alleviate the terrible joint pain. It may work for some of you, my fellow special spinal cord folks, but it has not worked for me. If anything, it has eased the crepitus a tad bit. Regarding pain, the supplement has not done anything. Time to make a change.

My neurologist mentioned Collagen Hydrolysate as having positive results for osteoarthritis pain, especially in the hips and elbows. So I’ve spent about 20 hours reading whatever I could find on the Internet and reading testimonials (and some negative comments) from current users of the supplement. Supposedly, Collagen Hydrolysate slows down the loss of cartilage, reduces pain, and gives you more mobility. I have ordered some for myself from the Great Lakes Gelatin company.  www.GreatLakesGelatin.com

This could be a long shot, and I realize that 20 hours of reading stuff on the Inter-webs isn’t the magic ticket, however I am quite hopeful that this product will work. A few athletes who I work with did have positive, personal experiences using it. As always, I will let the new rheumatologist know I’m taking it and I am eager to hear his opinion. My order should arrive by Friday. I’ll update as soon as I notice any changes.

in the meantime, here are some random pics of the last few months.

Christmas in Montana, the Rose Parade, beach days, hanging with Tito Ortiz at my health and fitness expo, Mother’s Day, crazy sun in San Diego, and other fun shenanigans. Thank you for reading!

Went to the Big Ranch near Choteau, MT for Christmas.

Went to the Big Ranch near Choteau, MT for Christmas.

image image image image image image image image image image image

