A Little Reprieve

Whew. I have missed two seasons. For the last four months, I was working on putting together a health and fitness expo. I have had only one flare-up that lasted about eight weeks. Other than the normal deep spinal cord pain and muscle weakness, I have felt fantastic.

My spinal cord hurts deep inside with a sunburn feeling from the base of my skull to my lumbar spine. That is from the syrinx. It has been a constant pain for months. Possibly because I haven’t been swimming. Or using my Stairmaster regularly. BOOOO me! It was a birthday gift and aside from swimming and lifting (light) weights, the Stairmaster is my favorite exercise. Lifting weights is supposedly a no-no with the Syringomyelia. However, it is good for M.S. and other diseases in that family. Besides, it burns fat and keeps the skeleton and muscles in excellent shape. And after a few months of working and not taking care of myself… I need to get rid of some fat. Oh-my!

Between working my show and having some days of rest here and there, I did find time to enjoy this Southern California fall and winter weather.

Kayaking off of Ventura Harbor.

Kayaking off of Ventura Harbor.

Sea Lions & Sailing

Sea Lions & Sailing

Hiking with my Sherpa on the Santa Cruz isle.

Hiking with my Sherpa on the Santa Cruz isle.

Touring the gorgeous homes in Heritage Square. Los Angeles

Touring the gorgeous homes in Heritage Square. Los Angeles

Enjoying the holiday season with family and friends.

Enjoying the holiday season with family and friends.

1,000 Lights

1,000 Lights

That just about wraps up the busy year. I hope 2013 is a great year for everyone filled with an abundant amount of good health and joy.  Get up and keep moving. Stay strong. Move that body or lose that body.

One response

  1. I have Syringomyelia, Transverse Myiolitus and Thorasic outlet along with SI joint disfunction and Bulging/Hern discs, annular tears and Degenerative Disc Desease. I would love ot talk offline about what you know that makes the back pain easier. I also have gained twice me from the immobility, they still have me in a hospital bed at home. two years without the ability to walk. jdovefamily (at) gmail dot com. Thanks Jenn

