Moving Your Body

Image

Having Multiple Sclerosis and/or Syringomyelia, I have found for myself, it is important to keep my body moving so my muscles stay strong. Hiking is one activity I have always enjoyed and still do. These days I don’t do very strenuous hikes due to the Syringomyelia, but certainly still enjoy longer trails with a low incline. My suggestion for a fantastic day trip for a nice hike for those in Southern California is to take a  boat ride out to the Channel Islands National Park to Santa Cruz Island.The morning ride out is usually foggy, but burns off quickly.

Image

There are many trails to explore for the day and two of them are low-impact with a very low to moderate incline. Very manageable for MS or Syringomyelia peeps. When you get to the top of most any exterior hike on Santa Cruz Island, you will be happy you made the trek.

Image

One response

  1. i am beyond stunned and crying out for you. I Syringomyelia transverse meyolitus and a varient of MS and I havent felt my right leg for year. i was active spontaneous , i made life the best it could be everyday. I have lived everywhere touched crater lake, redwoods, and I live in Georgia now with three great kids. I want my body back. I tried to climb the stairs to take a shower today to have a date night with my husband – which is maybe watching a show, I am limited in so many ways. I hurt myself bad. I have a intrathecal pain pump and oral meds. tell me you have a way to find my life again. – A woman in need.

