Breakfast Recipe – Vegetarian Oatmeal

I love to eat breakfast to give me energy for the morning hours. Even if I think I am not hungry, I still eat a little bit of oatmeal. Within the first couple bites, my body indeed recognizes that it needs the nourishment to begin the day and even out my blood-sugar and protein levels in my body. For a quick, easy breakfast I recommend the following oatmeal dish.

From the Engine 2 Diet, by Rip Esselstyn (the Texas Firefighter who rocked his firehouse with a healthy eating make-over!)

E2 Hot Lap Bowl

1 cup of uncooked hot cereal (steel-cut oats, oatmeal, something delicious)

1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed meal

2 tablespoons of raisins or dried cranberries (I have found dried currants in the raisin section – delicious!)

1 banana, sliced

1/2 cup of fresh fruit (frozen if necessary)

1/2 cup of soy milk (I prefer almond milk myself)

1/2 handful of walnuts (or whatever you prefer – slivered almonds or pecans are tasty)

Cook the cereal (oats) according to the directions with flaxseed meal, raisins, banana, and fruit. Drizzle with the soy/almond milk and nuts. Enjoy!

Image    Image

